Voorlinden is a private museum for modern and contemporary art at a magnificent estate in the dunes at Wassenaar, a stone's throw from The Hague. Businessman and art collector Joop van Caldenborgh realised his dream here in 2016: a museum of international allure that houses his renowned collection. The attractive white building offers a space for Van Caldenborgh's rich and surprising collection, permanent works of art made especially for the museum and temporary exhibitions.
Every aspect of Museum Voorlinden has been designed to enhance art. The basic oblong shape consists of variegated dune sand-coloured natural stones and transparent glass walls, which enhances the experience of nature inside the building. An elegant, white-steel colonnade bears the ingenious roof structure. The overall threefold division of the interior matches the museum programme: collection presentations, changing exhibitions and permanent in-situ works. The exhibition rooms are illuminated by the ever-changing natural daylight that brings the artwork to life. The distinctive light of the Dutch coast falls into the building in gradations thanks to ingeniously cut tubes. A velum and transparent glass roof, in which indirect LED is integrated, ensures that the artwork is illuminated as naturally as possible on less sunny days and in the evenings.
Museum Voorlinden features a number of artworks on permanent display. Skyspace by James Turrell (1943) and the corten steel sculpture Open Ended (2007-2008) by Richard Serra (1938) have been incorporated into the building itself. Museum Voorlinden additionally boasts permanently installed work by Maurizio Cattelan (1960) and the illusionistic Swimming Pool by Argentinian artist Leandro Erlich (1973). The hyper-realistic Couple under an Umbrella by Ron Mueck (1958) and the enchanting glass sculptures of Roni Horn (1955) are on semi-permanent display as well. In order to present these works to their optimum advantage, each singular piece has been placed in a separate gallery.
Voorlinden Estate has a long history that harks back to Roman times. The name Voorlinden originated in 1584. During the seventeenth century various country estates emerged around The Hague, one of which was Voorlinden. At the start of the nineteenth century, father J.D. Zocher (1791-1870) and son (1820-1915) designed a park here in landscape style. When Voorlinden came into the hands of Esquire Ir. Hugo Loudon, he commissioned British architect R.J. Johnston to build the current country house along the lines of the stately country house of his English wife. In the same period, landscape architect Leonard Springer (1855-1940) redesigned the landscape and created new lines of sight. The combination of indigenous and exotic tree species was his work. For the opening of Museum Voorlinden, landscape and garden architect Piet Oudolf (1944) was commissioned to design the area around the new building. This final intervention resulted in an example of early 19th-century, 20th-century and 21st-century landscapes. The woods, dune meadow and dune areas are freely accessible for walking on the footpaths. Dogs should be kept on a leash due to the presence of wildlife and birds.